We have house guests coming next weekend to attend my next book signing and they are staying in my work space/guest room/media room/grandchildren’s play space/bedroom. It’s a large room, but since I’ve been preoccupied with the edits of my newest book, there isn’t a clean flat surface in the room.

Plus, I started tackling the paper chaos and realized that in this world of digital writing, I am still a paper person. I have notes, notebooks, story charts, character studies, plot plottings, workshopped drafts of current (and old) works, and writing lesson plans stuck in a heap on the floor by the bed. On top of that stack, I have paper copies of my screenplays, my books in various editing drafts, and the shorts I’m working on. I can’t bring myself to toss them so I got magazine holders and labeled them, but either my categories are too narrow or I’m going to need a dozen more. It’s not that I don’t have digital backups of everything- because I do- but I like the hard copies… even if it adds to workplace clutter.

All my giant Post-it worksheets are down (and in the process of being stashed in a stand up wrapping paper box with the name of the project on the outside) as I’m finishing up older projects and not ready to begin a new one so the walls look bare.

Tomorrow I’m starting the first draft of a workshop I’m presenting so I need to quit procrastinating and clean up the space! I know the answer to storage issues isn’t more storage solutions, but I can’t bring myself to toss the paper copies. It’s like they’re tangible proof of my hard work. Any other writers have this problem?

